Thank you for attending the

12th International Workshop on
Subsecond Thermophysics

June, 3 – 6, 2019
Cologne, Germany

Numbers Some pictures

History of IWSSTP (G. Pottlacher)

The program booklet

Proceedings due by July, 24th (new)

 organized by
Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum,
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR
51170 Köln, Germany


TMS, San Diego 2020: Materials Research in Reduced Gravity (

TOFA 2020

13th International Workshop on Subsecond Thermophysics 2022


About the Workshop

This is the 12th of a series of well established workshops on experimental and theoretical aspects of thermophysical properties of matter. These workshops began more than 30 years ago as a forum of discussion of thermophysical property measurements based on subsecond techniques such as the exploding wire technique. The table below lists all previous workshops and the present one, their hosting locations and their organizers.

Nowadays, the workshop covers all aspects of thermophysical property research under extreme conditions, such as high temperatures and pressures. The investigated timescale regimes reach from milliseconds to picoseconds, including rapid resistive or inductive (volume) heating, laser pulse heating, levitation techniques on ground and under microgravity, as well as other recently developed fast investigation techniques. The emphasis is on measurements of thermophysical properties at high temperatures and/or on the study of the behavior of matter under conditions close by and far away from thermodynamic equilibrium.

The workshop is held every three years. It has developed as a unique forum for scientists from different areas of thermophysics, materials science and metrology where researchers can exchange knowledge, ideas, and experiences on the latest trends in the field. 

Since the 8th workshop, the proceedings are published in the journal “High Temperatures - High Pressures".

The 12th  IWSSTP has been organized by the Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Köln, Germany.


No Organizer Place Year
1 A. Cezairliyan - NIST Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA 1988
2 F. Righini – IMGC Torino, Italy 1990
3 G. Pottlacher – TU-Graz Graz, Austria 1992
4 I. Egry – DLR Cologne, Germany 1995
5 M. Boivineau – Uni Aix Aix-en-Provence, France 1998
6 E. Kaschnitz, ÖGI Leoben, Austria 2001
7 F. Millot, Uni Orleans Orleans, France 2004
8 M. Sheindlin, V. Fortov – JIHT Moscow, Russia 2007
9 G. Pottlacher – TU-Graz Graz, Austria 2010
10 J. Boboridis, ITU, EC-JRC Karlsruhe, Germany 2013
11 N. Sobczak – FRI Krakow, Poland 2016
J. Brillo - DLR Cologne, Germany 2019

 see also history of IWSSTP by G. Pottlacher



Please send all inquiries to:
Priv.-Doz. Dr. Juergen Brillo